Intro: Art at our house

To preface, let me just say that we are not a fine arts family. Sure, I love looking at great art but me create it? Never! I couldn’t draw or paint my way out of a box if I had to. Unfortunately, whether by my behavior or by genetics, my boys don’t seem to have a great interest in drawing or coloring. Sure, they do it some times but not nearly so much as I imagine most little kids would.

Recently the Homeschool Buyers Co-op had a deal on Mark Kistler’s video art lessons. We checked it out, did a couple of sample lessons. I thought it was decent but of course EJ’s response was: ‘eh’ (this is so typical of him you’d think I’d be used to it by now). I finally decided to get the subscription anyway because I was interested in learning how to draw.

Armed with our new drawing pencils and pads, the two boys and I sat down this morning to watch and draw along with one of Mark’s videos. Despite EJ’s ‘eh’ previous response he had a great time drawing all together and has now asked that we draw every day!  No we won’t be winning awards anytime soon, but I’m really proud of our non-artsy family!

EJ’s Balloons, V.1
EJ’S Balloons, V.2 – He wanted to add another person chasing after the boy in he air.
JD’s Balloons – Not quite sure what is going on here, but I know there is pizza involved.
EJ’s Marshmallow family. Please do note the presence of a meteorite hurtling toward the hapless family.
And just to prove what an artist I am not, here’s my sketch:
Thanks for reading!
5 responses to “Intro: Art at our house

  1. I LOVE Mark Kistler. Someday, I’ll get those videos….. 🙂

  2. I adore the marshmallow family.

Leave a Reply

